Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
5

Have you ever had clothes made? My live look inside Valeria's studio, what happened next, and an invitation.

Peek at her newest collection. And see how working with an independent designer works.
5

In my last “What I Wore All Week” post, one day was the clear star, and one piece of clothing made that happen. It was a sheer dress with fraying at the edges, which I layered into a three piece gray suit to transform it into something (much, much) more. BTW, it’s a genre of piece that

cited as “one of the inclinations I’m sensing” in her most recent post. Mine is so special and in one of those perfect bridge colors. Because it was made for me. Thanks to my friend aka Waste Not Want Not Style, I met an incredible independent Miami designer, Valeria Krasavina. I now have three Valeria pieces, each of which I deeply treasure.

Last week, some of you joined Christian and me live in Valeria’s studio for a viewing of her newest Tahiti inspired pieces. And if you missed it, you’re in luck, Substack saved the recording, so you can watch it right here.

You’ll see that I fell in love with the newest collection and settled on two new pieces: a short satin dress with a wide, flirty, sculptural shape, and a heavy linen top with an unusual textured, soft origami effect and hand beaded straps.

I wanted to take you all along on the process.

Today Valeria shared fabrics with me following her trip to Mood. (Yes, that Mood! But in Miami).

First up, the dress. I didn’t want black, like the (incredible) sample, because I have a short flirty black Prada dress, which although totally different is “in the vibe of” enough that I craved a different color.

Valeria shared these, above, which are the same heft and sheen of the black. The navy is perfect and just what I had hoped for. I can imagine this little dress with a royal and white striped tee.

For the woven top, I wanted a sort of pretty, off color. (The sample was a buttery yellow.) Maybe a purple, blue, green gray? Valeria suggested that something the color of the sheer dress could make for amazing layering. I love that.

On Friday at 3 I will go back to Valeria’s studio to look in person and talk details. I will go live on Substack so you can see this part too. Make sure you have the app, and I will see you there!

It gives me so much joy to support independent female and LGBTQIA+ designers. Of course you have to love the work! I’m so lucky to know (and love) Valeria and to be part of the special world she imagines. Somehow wearing these pieces makes me really feel especially awake and alive.

XOXO,

Rachel

Discussion about this podcast

@heymrssolomon
@heymrssolomon - the style pod
style ahas for grown women - discovered + shared here. #knowyourstyle #showyourstyle